This is the "Home" page of the "Veterinary Assisting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Veterinary Assisting   Tags: reference, research  

If you are in Veterinary Assisting this guide is a great place to get started
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/Veterinary Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday

8 AM - 8:30 PM

Friday

8 AM - 5 PM

Saturday & Sunday

Closed

      

    Animal Rights Organizations

     

    Books from the Catalog

    Cover Art
    Anatomy and Physiology for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses - Robin Sturtz; Lori Asprea; Robin Sternberg (Illustrator)
    Call Number: SF761 .S87 2012
    ISBN: 9780813822648
    Publication Date: 2012-10-09

    Cover Art
    Animal Restraint for Veterinary Professionals - Teresa F. Sonsthagen; James A. Topel; C. C. Sheldon
    Call Number: SF760.A55 S54 2006
    ISBN: 9780323034654
    Publication Date: 2006-04-07

    Cover Art
    Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians - Kristin J. Holtgrew-Bohling
    ISBN: 9780323077323
    Publication Date: 2011-05-12

    Cover Art
    Learning Veterinary Terminology - Douglas F. McBride
    ISBN: 9780323013291
    Publication Date: 2001-07-26

    Cover Art
    Clinical Veterinary Language - Joann Colville; Sharon Oien
    Call Number: SF610 2014
    ISBN: 9780323096027
    Publication Date: 2013-06-21

    Welcome

    Welcome to the Charter College Subject Guide for Veterinary Assisting!

    In this guide you will find resources to help you throughout your program. 

    The information found in this guide includes: database resources, books, articles, professional publications, and websites to help you with your research.

        

      Online Databases

      Image result for LIRN Database logo

      The LIRN collection provides students with millions of peer-reviewed and full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, podcasts, audio, and video resources to support their academic studies from Gale Cengage, ProQuest, & EBSCO.


       

      Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

      Image result for elibrary logo

      Selected periodicals, reference books, maps, pictures, and newspapers from around the world, along with transcripts of news and public affairs broadcasts.

      Image result for Health Reference Center Academic logo

      Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

          

        Online Publications

        • American Animal Hospital Association
          The American Animal Hospital Association is the only organization to accredit companion veterinary hospitals. Our accredited hospitals hold themselves to a higher standard. Pets are their passion, and keeping them healthy is their #1 priority. They strive to deliver excellent care for pets and provide an assortment of publications and educational programs to help veterinarians and animal hospitals thrive.
        • American Association for Laboratory Animal Science
          AALAS is an association of professionals that advances responsible laboratory animal care and use to benefit people and animals.
        • American Veterinary Medical Association
          The American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), established in 1863, is a not-for-profit association representing more than 86,500 veterinarians working in private and corporate practice, government, industry, academia, and uniformed services. Structured to work for its members, the AVMA acts as a collective voice for its membership and for the profession.
        • Association for Assessment and Accrediation of Laboratory Animal Care Internationl
          AAALAC International is a private, nonprofit organization that promotes the humane treatment of animals in science through voluntary accreditation and assessment programs. AAALAC stands for the "Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care."
        • Association for Veterinary Informatics
          It's in our present mission statement to promote standards. I'd like to see us promoting the work that the VTSL has done with diagnostic terms--the veterinary extension, the AAHA subset, and the AAEP subset.
        • Centers for Disease Contol & Prevention: Emerging Infectious Diseases
          Emerging Infectious Diseases is an open access journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
        • Centers for Disease Control & Prevention: Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report
          The MMWR weekly contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community.
        • The Merck Veterinary Manual
          For over 50 years, The Merck Veterinary Manual has been a trusted source of animal health information for students and practicing veterinarians. It contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. More than 1100 full-color images, audio examples, videos, and links to related information enhance the expansive coverage of companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals.
        • Pet Place
          With over 1,000,000 visitors per month, Petplace.com is the definitive web destination for PetCrazy people. We know that the number one priority of PetCrazy people is their pet’s health and well being. More than 85 veterinarians, including many veterinary specialists, have written for Petplace.com. With a library of over 10,000 veterinarian approved articles we offer the largest and most complete source of pet information available anywhere. We not only offer the most comprehensive resource for Pet Health and Wellness, but we also have over 4,000 heartwarming "Pet Stories" that will make you, laugh, make you cry and make you feel good inside. Are you PetCrazy? Then Petplace.com is for you!
        • Vet - On-Line - The International of Veterinary Medicine
          Priory Medical Journals were founded in 1994 and are the world's first web based medical journals. Follow the link to the International Journal of Veterinary Medicine where you will find various articles about the veterinary field.
        • Veterinary Support Personnel Network
          The Mission of the Veterinary Support Personnel Network is to support, inspire, and lead our profession in the advancement of veterinary medicine by providing a worldwide community for veterinary support staff complete with message boards, resources, continual education, and interactive sessions in an encouraging, collaborative and sharing environment.
        • Veterinary Partner
          Do you have questions about animal health, medications, therapies, surgery, behavior, or safety? Did your veterinarian suggest you visit this site to learn more about a health issue concerning your pet?
        • Vetinfo
          Use this resource to find articles on a variety of veterinary information.