News, Magazines & JournalsMultimediaProfessional Organizations
Criminal ProfilesJuristsCatching and ConvictingCrimesNotable Cases
This is the "Find Books" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/CJ Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference Books

Cover Art
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
Defining terms, including haggling and mediator, this comprehensive resource will standardize the language of conflict resolution - improving dialogue and understanding among professionals and theorists and promoting uniformity and consistency in the language. It offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Forensic Psychology - Graham Towl, David P. Farrington, David Crighton, and Gareth Hughes
Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Policing - Tim Newburn and Peter Neyroud
Consists of entries, including summary definition, main text and key texts and sources, contributed by leading academic and practitioners in policing.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment - Yvonne Jewkes and Jamie Bennett
The essential source of reference for the increasing number of people studying in, working in prisons and working with prisoners.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management - Rob Canton and David Hancock
Contemporary probation practice is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized. Probation officers are typically described now as offender managers, and the creation of NOMS (National Offender Management Service) has broadened the remit of the Probation Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Youth Justice - Barry Goldson
This Dictionary explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organisational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located.

 

Find Books and eBooks

 

Criminal Justice Text Books

Cover Art
The American System of Criminal Justice - George F. Cole; Christopher E. Smith
Call Number: KF9223 .C648 2010
ISBN: 9780495599654
Available in Anchorage, Vancouver, Bellingham, Pasco, Wasilla, Oxnard

Cover Art
Criminal Courts - Gary A. Rabe; Dean John Champion; Richard Hartley
Call Number: KF8700 .Z9 .R33 2008
ISBN: 9780131189799
Available in Wasilla, Pasco

Cover Art
Cj 2012 - James A. Fagin
Call Number: HV9950 .F343 2013
ISBN: 9780132818353
Available in Pasco

Cover Art
Ethics, Crime, and Criminal Justice - Christopher R. Williams; Bruce A. Arrigo
Call Number: K5018 .W548 2008
ISBN: 9780131710764
Available in Anchorage, Wasilla, Oxnard

Cover Art
Restorative Justice in the United States - Clifford K. Dorne; Ron Claassen (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV8688 .D67 2007
ISBN: 9780131137851
Available in Anchorage, Wasilla, Bellingham, Oxnard

 

Books on Criminal Justice

Cover Art
Great American Court Cases, Gale
This resource, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents. It contains cases organized by broad legal principles, then arranged alphabetically under the more specific legal issue.

Cover Art
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law - Gregg Lee Carter
Top scholars present an unbiased work that takes on the explosive issue of guns and gun violence in the United States.

Cover Art
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Courts, Law, and Justice
Covers a wide range of sharply contested topics, including drug and gun control laws as well as the ins and outs of the criminal justice system as encountered by arrested suspects, during the trial process, and during the sentencing phase.

Cover Art
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Juvenile Crime and Justice
The authors of the chapters in Juvenile Crime and Justice address various hotly debated topics along three loosely connected themes: prevention, prosecution, and corrections.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression - Daniel J. Flannery, Alexander T. Vazsonyi, and Irwin D. Waldman
From a team of leading experts comes a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research including the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Cover Art
World of Criminal Justice, Gale - Shirelle Phelps
The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are included. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.