RelativityMechanicsDynamicsOptics, Magnetism, & Electricity
BooksTerms & ConceptsHistoryCognitive BiologyMental HealthMental Illness & TreatmentPsychological DisordersPsychologists
BooksTraditionalClassicalOpera, Musicals, and FilmFolk, Jazz, and BluesRock and PopAvant Garde
BooksConceptsHabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and Environmentalists
This is the "Books" page of the "General Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General Education  

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/generaled Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Environmental Studies

Cover Art
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology - Andrew Porteous
Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, Blackwell Science - Peter P. Calow
Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.

Cover Art
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics - Peter Dauvergne
Consisting of original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics, this landmark work maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this young and growing field.

Cover Art
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy - Frank Wijen, Kees Zoeteman, and Jan Pieters
This comprehensive, revised Handbook pushes the frontiers of theoretical and empirical knowledge, and provides a state-of-the-art examination of the multifaceted effects of globalisation on environmental governance.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics - John Barry and E. Gene Frankland
The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.

Cover Art
The Princeton Guide to Ecology - Simon A. Levin
A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.

Cover Art
The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History
This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.

  


 

Topics in Environmental Studies

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Energy - Cutler J. Cleveland
Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences, providing easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes - Haraldur Sigurdsson
A comprehensive reference work about volcanoes and volcanic processes.

Cover Art
Guide to Global Hazards - Robert Kovach and Bill McGuire
A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.

Cover Art
American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present - Anne Becher and Joseph Richey
A collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.

Cover Art
Handbook of Environmental Sociology - Riley E. Dunlap and William Michelson
This comprehensive overview of the first quarter-century of American environmental sociology introduces readers to the research and theoretical perspectives in this "new" field of study.

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.

Cover Art
Guide to the Oceans - John Pernetta
An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.

Cover Art
OECD Factbook 2013: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
The OECD Factbook provides a global overview of todays major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa.