RelativityMechanicsDynamicsOptics, Magnetism, & Electricity
BooksTerms & ConceptsHistoryCognitive BiologyMental HealthMental Illness & TreatmentPsychological DisordersPsychologists
BooksTraditionalClassicalOpera, Musicals, and FilmFolk, Jazz, and BluesRock and PopAvant Garde
BooksConceptsHabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and Environmentalists
This is the "Books" page of the "General Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General Education  

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/generaled Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Music titles

Cover Art
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music - Don Michael Randel
A guide to the thousands of characters, from humble artisan to lofty genius, who people the unfolding history of music, this volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.

Cover Art
The Harvard Dictionary of Music - Don Michael Randel
Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

Cover Art
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music - Paul Griffiths
Succinct and comprehensive guide to the history, forms, and personalities of classical music. Readers will find biographies of thousands of composers from Albinoni to Zappa, with in-depth treatment of major figures, coverage of individual works, including plot summaries of operas and ballets, articles on the history of music and instruments, entries on musical forms, from medieval plainchant to contemporary minimalism, and clear definitions of technical terms and jargon.

 

Opera

Cover Art
Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Guide to the World of Opera - David Hamilton
This book aspires to be at once a guide to the world of opera and a compendium of information specifically related to the Metropolitan Opera, its history, repertory, and performers.

  


 

Popular Music

Cover Art
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Locations
Includes coverage of the historical, geographical, demographical, political, economic and cultural context; genres for which the location is known or which have been important to the development and current practice of its popular music; significant venues such as theatres, dance halls, clubs and bars, the role of the industry: music publishers, record companies/labels, recording studios, radio and TV; the role of the state and government regulatory bodies; the teaching and research of popular music in educational institutions; songs associated with the location; and notable performers and other practitioners such as producers, engineers, technological innovators, record company heads, journalists, critics and scholars, songwriters, composers and lyricists.

Cover Art
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry and Society
A comprehensive reference work on popular music that encompasses the world.

Cover Art
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Performance and Production
Reference guide to popular music from all corners of the globe with a focus on performance and production.

Cover Art
The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music - Phil Hardy
Covering bebop to western swing by way of psychedelic rock, Phil Hardy's indispensable book maps out a stimulating and informative cultural history of the century in popular music.

 

Publisher Collection titles

Please note: Publisher Collections are not part of Credo General Reference collections. Your library may not have access, please check your subscription.

Cover Art
The Ashgate Research Companion to Popular Musicology - Derek B. Scott
Designed to offer scholars and graduate students a comprehensive and authoritative state-of-the-art review of current research in the area of popular music.