News, Magazines & JournalsMultimediaProfessional Organizations
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Business Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Administration  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/busadmin Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

 

Searching by Subject

What is the difference between a keyword and a subject heading?

Let's say you're in the grocery store, and you're there to get noodles of some kind. Spaghetti is the most common, so you look for a sign that says "spaghetti," but you can't find it. Why can't you find that sign? Because the sign you want says "Pasta" and includes not only spaghetti, but manicotti, macaroni, lasagna, penne, orzo and more.

In this example, Spaghetti is a keyword. Pasta is a subject heading.

If you were to search for spaghetti as a keyword, you might find yourself looking at Spaghetti Westerns on your search screen. Is that what you wanted to find?

Searching for pasta as a subject heading would include the type of spaghetti you want, as well as other types of pasta.

Library Databases are organized by subject heading. Google is not!

Search smart!

 

Find Articles and More...

The following links lead you to our online databases, which contain articles, books, podcasts, videos, and more. Also, check out our individual subject guides for more detailed information related to your field of study.

NOTE: To access these databases remotely, you must be logged in to your Portal account! If you are not logged in, clicking on one of these icons will take you to the portal login screen.

PLEASE NOTE! BOOKS 24x7 HAS CHANGED ITS NAME. YOU WILL CAN STILL FIND IT IN THE LIRN DATABASE UNDER THE NEW NAME OF SKILLSOFT BOOKS.

Cover Art
Credo Reference  Icon
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

Cover Art
Films on Demand  Icon
Thousands of video clips covering a wide range of topics.

Cover Art
LIRN (Library & Information Resources Network)  Icon
The LIRN collection provides students with millions of peer-reviewed and full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, podcasts, audio, and video resources to support their academic studies from Gale Cengage, ProQuest, EBSCO, and eLibrary.

Cover Art
FAITS - Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies service  Icon
This one-of-a-kind online technology reports database was created especially for the academic community. It contains a virtual library of clearly-written reports covering such key technology areas as IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors.

Cover Art
Faulkner Security Management Practice  Icon
Faulkner Information Services has been a respected provider of IT and communications information services for some 40 years. Our subscribers include business planners, consultants, service providers, IT staff, libraries, technology providers, and government agencies. Faulkner was among the first to deliver its core services in electronic format on CD-ROM, in Lotus Notes, in HTML for intranets, and over the World Wide Web.

 

Boolean Operators Explained

Using Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT

AND – use this to narrow your search results. Typing in the terms anorexia AND bulimia will retrieve articles that have both of those terms.

OR – use this to expand your search results. Typing in cats OR dogs will retrieve articles that have at least one of the terms. Also, use this if there might be different ways to enter a term: IBM OR “International Business Machines” or Canine OR Dog

NOT - Use this to exclude certain terms. For example drugs NOT abuse will yield results that include drug information but not drug abuse information.

Other Tips:

asterisk (*) - use the asterisk to find all forms of a search term. For example the search term book* will find books, booked, booker, booking, bookkeeper etc..

quotation marks – use quotation marks to search for exact phrase. For example the database will recognize “study skills” as words linked together instead of apart.

 

Director of Library Services

Profile Image
Matthew Jaques
Contact Info
Send Email