Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017
- Cruise Lines International Association
A great web site for all topics relating to the cruise industry. Free content includes regulatory information, profile of cruise line companies, industry news and statistics, and some industry market reports. Other content for members only.
- Center for Exhibition Industry Research
Provides industry statistics and research related to the exhibition industry. Some information on the site is free. This is a great site to locate market research and statistical publications for conventions and events.
- Expo Database
International directory covering the convention and event planning. Provides listing of events worldwide. Also contains to suppliers, business services and jobs.
- EXPOweb.com & EXPO Magazine
Expo Web is an online newsletter and it provides current news on various types of meetings including conventions, trade shows, and corporate events. The newsletter provides access to both research and practitioner oriented information.
- Meeting Professionals International
Great site for professionals in the meeting industry. The site provides online magazines, industry statistics, and legislative and governmental information.
- Meetings Net
An industry portal for meeting planners and executives. Covers all aspects of meeting planning including procurement, processing, efficiency and control, and outsourcing. The site also includes current news and professional resources.
- Successful Meetings
This megasite provides access to news, research and other articles related to meetings, conventions and trade shows. The site contains various types of information related to the various aspects of planning a meeting and has some professional resources as well. Also included are resources related to industry research.
- Hospitality Index
Largely a directory of suppliers for the hospitality industry, this site also includes industry links with information and news.
- Hospitality Net
A comprehensive site including industry news, free market reports, information on professional associations, and much more. A very valuable site to explore!
- Travel + Leisure
The web site for the publication, Travel+Leisure, this resource contains articles, directories and descriptions for hotels, destinations and restaurants, and lists for the World's Best Awards, which rate the best hotels, restaurants, cities, and travel agents.
- American Hotel & Lodging Association - AH&LA
The web site for AHLA, which represents the hotel and lodging industry. Some free content, some only available to members. For free content, there is information on government regulations relating to travel and lodging, events and conferences, a career center, diversity resources, industry history and news, and a list of the top 50 hotel companies.
- ARDA : American Resort Development Association
Information on the resort and time share industry includes overviews, news, and articles from Developments magazine, a journal for the resort industry. Other reports and content available to members only.
- Institute of Hospitality
The Institute of Hospitality is a professional association for hotel and catering employees based in the U.K. Most of the content is for members only, but the site does offer a good links page.
A great site with news articles on online travel, internet marketing, and hospitality industry topics. Articles are organized by date and topic. Users can also subscribe to a daily e-newsletter. All content is free and updated daily
- Hotel Resource
Includes resources on news and trends on many topics relating to hospitality, including technology, food, beverages and lodging. Also contains job listings, newsletters, and lists of suppliers and events.
- PKF Hospitality Research
PKF Consulting is a company that advises and informs workers in the hotel industry with the data they collect. Much on the site is for a fee, but they have excellent industry reports that are free. They also collect industry news. You'll find a list of the most recent reports, along with a link to archived data.
Articles, events, suppliers related to the hotel industry are organized on this site by topic. One great, unique feature on this site is the multimedia, which includes online video presentations on a variety of lodging topics.
- ASTA-American Society of Travel Agents
Includes news, travel agent locator, legislative information, career information and job listings, and events. Some content for members only.
- Fodor's Travel Guides
Web site for the popular travel book series, this site offers free information on hotels, restaurants, destinations, and cruises. Also includes Fodor’s Travel Wire, with lists such as “Airports We Love and Hate”, and “Must-Do Adventures for 2007”.
- Destination Marketing Association International | DMAI
An online resource center for convention and visitors bureaus, and destination professionals worldwide. Some content is for members only, but free information includes reports on destination topics, event calendars, newsletters, and job and internship listings.
- ITA Office of Travel and Tourism Industries
Web site of the U.S. Department of Commerce International Trade Administration, Office of Travel and Tourism Industries. Includes free data on U.S. and international tourism and travel, including news, statistics, and links to other great information sources. Users can also subscribe to a free news/update service called TINews.
- Data and Statistics | Bureau of Transportation Statistics
An excellent compendium of data collected by the U.S. Department of Transportation. All data is free, and includes information on commuting, business and leisure travel, demographic information on travelers, and much more. Also includes reports on topics such as comparing travel pre-and post September 11, and preferred mode of transportation for travel.
- Society for Accessible Travel and Hospitality
The Society for Accessible Travel & Hospitality (SATH), founded in 1976, is an educational nonprofit membership organization whose mission is to raise awareness of the needs of all travelers with disabilities, remove physical and attitudinal barriers to free access and expand travel opportunities in the United States and abroad. Members include travel professionals, consumers with disabilities and other individuals and corporations.
- Brewers Association
Trade association that provides information on all aspects of brewing. Topics covered range from government regulation, types of beer, and industry information including statistics. Also provides current news on the industry.
- Beer Institute
Malt beverage trade association dealing with many facets of the industry. Covers legislative and regulatory issues, health awareness, agricultural policy, etc. This site contains access to statistical reports, industry studies and other research.
- Distilled Spirits Council of the United States | DISCUS
Trade organization for distilled spirits, contains information on ethics, health, government regulation and industry news. The site provides industry statistics on sales, economic contribution, and import/export figures.
- Food Marketing Institute
Food Marketing Institute (FMI) conducts programs in research, education, industry relations and public affairs for food retailers and wholesalers. The comprehensive site includes information for professionals and consumers. There is information on food safety, nutrition, and industry legislation. There is also information regarding conducting business and includes human resources, technology and supply.
- National Association of Beverage Importers
Official site for a national trade association representing the interests of beer, wine and spirit importers at state and federal levels.
- National Restaurant Association
A comprehensive site for the restaurant industry covering business, government and health and safety information. The site provides access to industry statistics and market reports. In addition, there are resources for professionals related to operations, marketing, etc.
- The Wine Institute
An advocacy group for the California wine industry, this group provides information on the wine industry including industry news, research and government regulation. The industry news section contains harvest reports, statistics (wine consumption, sales, etc.), and public policy issues.
- Wine Business
News site for the wine industry. The site provides access to current news and other facets of the wine industry including winemaking, grape growing, sales and marketing, and business and technology. There are also various resources for industry research including rankings, surveys, etc.
- National Geographic Center for Sustainable Destinations
Resources on sustainable tourism and "what is now being called geotourism: tourism that supports the geographical character of the place being visited — its environment, culture, heritage, aesthetics, and the well-being of its citizens.
- The International Ecotourism Society
Travel help, tips, and FAQ sheets for travelers who "tread lightly" as well as helpful articles and research services for ecotourism professionals.
There are some features on this site that do not require a subscription. You can search for ecolodges in numerous countries and read articles, editorials and interviews on ecotourism issues.
- Ethical Traveler
This site's "focus is on the positive impact travelers can have by being open, informed, and willing to immerse themselves in other cultures," and "is dedicated to educating travelers about the social and environmental impact of their decisions." The site features "Thirteen Tips for the Accidental Ambassador," country information, details about advocacy actions, and links to related sites. A project of Earth Island Institute, an organization founded by environmentalist David Brower.
- Planeta.com: Think Smart, Travel Slow
The website of this "global journal of practical ecotourism," focuses primarily on ecotourism issues and education for Mexico and the Americas. The site includes country-specific information for several South and Central American countries, and features a world travel directory with listings of eco-friendly travel agents and tour operators.
- Eco Tropical Resorts
Sustainable tourist destinations between the Tropic of Capricorn and the Tropic of Cancer.
- Medical tourism growing worldwide
This 2005 interview with hospitality experts looks at the trend of patients from Western countries traveling to other countries for medical procedures. Discusses the reasons for this trend (such as cost savings and shorter wait time for procedures), major centers for medical tourism (such as India and Thailand), and related topics. From UDaily, a publication of the University of Delaware.