News, Magazines & JournalsMultimediaProfessional Organizations
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Information Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Technology  

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/IT Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

Open Access Databases

Open access databases are collections of information that can be found free on the web.

 

Find Articles and More...

The following links lead you to our online databases, which contain articles, books, podcasts, videos, and more. Also, check out our individual subject guides for more detailed information related to your field of study.

NOTE: To access these databases remotely, you must be logged in to your Portal account! If you are not logged in, clicking on one of these icons will take you to the portal login screen.

PLEASE NOTE! BOOKS 24x7 HAS CHANGED ITS NAME. YOU WILL CAN STILL FIND IT IN THE LIRN DATABASE UNDER THE NEW NAME OF SKILLSOFT BOOKS.

Cover Art
Credo Reference  Icon
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

Cover Art
Films on Demand  Icon
Thousands of video clips covering a wide range of topics.

Cover Art
LIRN (Library & Information Resources Network)  Icon
The LIRN collection provides students with millions of peer-reviewed and full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, podcasts, audio, and video resources to support their academic studies from Gale Cengage, ProQuest, EBSCO, and eLibrary.

Cover Art
FAITS - Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies service  Icon
This one-of-a-kind online technology reports database was created especially for the academic community. It contains a virtual library of clearly-written reports covering such key technology areas as IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors.

Cover Art
Faulkner Security Management Practice  Icon
Faulkner Information Services has been a respected provider of IT and communications information services for some 40 years. Our subscribers include business planners, consultants, service providers, IT staff, libraries, technology providers, and government agencies. Faulkner was among the first to deliver its core services in electronic format on CD-ROM, in Lotus Notes, in HTML for intranets, and over the World Wide Web.

 

Google Alternatives

RefSeek
RefSeek's unique approach offers students comprehensive subject coverage without the information overload of a general search engine—increasing the visibility of academic information and compelling ideas that are often lost in a muddle of sponsored links and commercial results.

DASH - Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard
A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community.

Digital Public Library
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Library Spot
A free virtual library resource center for educators and students, librarians and their patrons, families, businesses and just about anyone exploring the Web for valuable research information.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.