MA1001
News, Magazines & JournalsMultimediaProfessional Organizations
NutritionDiseases and DisordersHuman Anatomy
This is the "Find Websites" page of the "Medical Assisting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medical Assisting  

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/medical Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Web Site Evaluation

Finding quality health and medical information on the Web can be a daunting endeavor. The information you find may not only be misleading, it could also be dangerous.  The tutorials and websites below can help guide you through the maze of health information on the web.

Reference

  • Medical Encyclopedia: MedlinePlus
    Hosted on the Medline Plus web site from the National Library of Medicine, this encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
  • PDR Online
    Search the Physicians Desk Reference online.

More Readings on Evidence-Based Medicine

Internet Databases

Medical Resource Sites

  • MedicineNet - Health and Medical Information Produced by Doctors
    "We bring doctors' knowledge to you"
  • HealthCentral.com - Trusted, Reliable and Up To Date Health Information
    Up-to-date information on health news and more
  • Quackwatch
    This site combats "health related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies and misconduct."
  • Mayo Clinic
    The Health Information tab includes overviews of hundreds of diseases and conditions.
  • NetWellness
    NetWellness, a nonprofit consumer health website, provides more than 55,000 pages of high quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty at the University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve University and the Ohio State University. Its “Ask An Expert” feature is a question and answer service provided by numerous health care professionals of the three universities.
  • Aetna InteliHealth: Featuring Harvard Medical School's Consumer Health Information
    Aetna InteliHealth, a subsidiary of Aetna, partners with Harvard Medical School and Columbia University College of Dental Medicine to provide health information on this website. The site is content rich on disease and treatment information and includes additional features such as interactive health tools, ask the expert, dental health, and drug resource center. It’s important to note that Aetna InteliHealth’s editorial policy states that it maintains absolute editorial independence from Aetna.
  • Center for Disease Control and Prevention
  • FamilyDoctor.org
    The content on FamilyDoctor.org is intended for all individuals who are seeking reliable health information and is written at a 6th to 8th grade reading level. Content specifically for children and teens is also available on the site. All information has been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians. Conditions and diseases can be searched by name, symptom, or age most commonly affected.
  • Dorland Health: Care Coordination, Case Management, Care Transitions
    Dorland Health, an Access Intelligence, LLC Company, is a leading integrated media publisher in the healthcare business information industry. Through a suite of publications, directories, webinars and business information services, Dorland Health is a trusted venue for professionals in care coordination.
  • Lab Tests Online
    A public resource on clinical lab testing from the laboratory professionals who do the testing.
  • Innerbody.com
    Interactive 2D & 3D Anatomy models by system.

Law & Ethics

Phlebotomy