This is the "Finding Reference Sources" page of the "Writing & Citing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing & Citing   Tags: apa, reference, research  

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/writecite Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Reference Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Databases

Cover Art
The World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Cover Art
Credo Reference  Icon
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

Encyclopedias Online

 

Encyclopedias (eBooks)

Cover Art
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia - Encyclopaedia Britannica Publishers
ISBN: 9781593392932
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Cover Art
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Mammals - David W. Macdonald (Editor)
ISBN: 9780691140698
Publication Date: 2009-03-01

Cover Art
The Columbia Encyclopedia - Thomson Gale Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787650155
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia With Atlas and Weather Guide
ISBN: 9781849727167
Publication Date: 2011-01-19

 

Ready Reference

These online general Reference sources will help you answer quick, factual questions and locate background information using a select list of electronic resources.  

If you want information about:    Then look in one of these:
General information about a topic  Encyclopedias
Names & addresses of people, companies, organizations, or institutions.    Directories
Profiles of important people    Biographical Dictionaries
Places or maps Atlases or Gazetteers
Facts and statistics    Almanacs
Formulas, tables, instructions on how to do things Handbooks or Manuals
Information about a person's work Review or Criticisms
Dates, outlines, historical timelines Historical Tables, Chronologies, Historical Yearbooks
Articles in Periodicals    Indexes or Abstracts

Adapted from: Elmer E. Rasmuson & BioSciences Libraries, University of Fairbanks, AK

Thesauri

Dictionaries

Statistics

Maps, etc.

  • EarthPulse, from National Geographic
    EarthPulse explores global connections with vivid and informative imagery, maps, diagrams, and interactives that illuminate where we are today, how we got here, and how our actions may affect the future of life on Earth.

Almanacs

  • Information Please Almanac
    This site includes contents of the Information Please Almanacs, a biography database, a dictionary, an atlas, and articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia.
  • The Farmer's Almanac
    Since 1792, The Old Farmer's Almanac has published useful information for people in all walks of life: tide tables for those who live near the ocean; sunrise tables and planting charts for those who live on the farm; recipes for those who live in the kitchen; and forecasts for those who don't like the question of weather left up in the air.
  • The United States Census Bureau
    The leading source of quality data about America's people and economy.

Translating

Quotations