News, Magazines & JournalsMultimediaProfessional Organizations
Human AnatomyNutritionDiseases and Disorders
This is the "Find Books" page of the "Vocational Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Vocational Nursing  

Resources for the Charter College Registered and Vocational Nursing Programs.
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chartercollege.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching Tips

Standardized subject headings help you search for information faster in our OPAC. Here are some of the common ones used for Allied Health materials:

ALLIED HEALTH PERSONNEL

CARE OF THE SICK

CLINICAL COMPETENCE

HUMAN ANATOMY

HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY

MEDICINE

MEDICINE -- TERMINOLOGY

NURSES

NURSING


Books under these subjects are also organized by the Library of Congress Classification. If you'd like to browse the shelves, look for materials beginning with the following classification letters/numbers, located on the spine of each book:

R Medicine, general
RB Pathology
RC Internal medicine
RT Nursing
 

Wellness

Cover Art
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology - David A. Bender
Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences
Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.

Cover Art
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements - Linda Skidmore-Roth
Presents herb and supplement profiles in a convenient, A-Z format for fast reference.

Cover Art
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
A contemporary, comprehensive glossary of terms and illustrations, along with appendices, useful for any health professional in today's medical field.

Cover Art
Natural Medicine Instructions for Patients
The sheets give full descriptions of each condition, its signs and symptoms, likely causes, and risk factors, preventative measures, expected outcomes, and treatment options including: diet, nutritional supplements, botanical medicines - plus cautions on drug-herb interactions - and physical therapies.

Cover Art
The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease ranging from how the body functions to when to consult your GP to what type of drug you have been prescribed.

Cover Art
International Dictionary of Homeopathy
Provides clear and up-to-date definitions and interpretations of concepts related to the principles and practice of homeopathy.

 

Anatomy and Physiology

Cover Art
Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Optometry and Visual Science
Includes succinct, understandable definitions, extensive tables and illustrations, and practical clinical advice as well as many new entries on pathology, pharmacology, investigative techniques, refractive surgery, contact lenses and visual perception.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Cover Art
Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

 

Find Books and eBooks

 

Nursing

Cover Art
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
This classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.

Cover Art
Nursing Leadership
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.

 

Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Aging
The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care is a state-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles. Topics include acute and chronic disease, home care including family-based care provisions, nursing home care, rehabilitation, health promotion, disease prevention, education, case management, social services, assisted living, advance directives, palliative care, and much more.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.

Cover Art
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.

 

Medical Dictionaries

Cover Art
American Heritage Medical Dictionary
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.

Cover Art
Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

Cover Art
Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Medical Terms
Includes terms from British and international medical practice covering fields such as surgery, general practice, hospitals, clinics, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry and other specialisms. Also includes informal terms of the kind used between professionals or professionals and patients.

Cover Art
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Comprehensive biomedical dictionary that reflects standard and current terminology derived from medicine and related disciplines. Includes images and audio pronunciations.

Cover Art
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Presents accurate definitions for the medical acronyms and abbreviations that are used today.

Cover Art
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition
Defines health-care terms, including abbreviations, medication names, and includes biographies of medical pioneers.

Cover Art
Mosby's Dental Dictionary
Definitions include all areas of dentistry, basic, clinical and behavioral sciences, terms related to office management, and commonly used medical terms.

Cover Art
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
A combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Cover Art
Mosby's Emergency Dictionary
Specifically for those who provide care in emergency settings, it provides definitions of virtually every emergency response term you need to know -- plus clear explanations of techniques you use every day.

Cover Art
Pharmaceutical Medicine Dictionary
This dictionary is aimed at all those that work within the pharmaceutical industry (or aspire to do so) and contains information that covers the gamut of pharmaceutical medicine from drug discovery, development, trials, regulatory approval and marketing.

Cover Art
Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary
An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.

 

Women's Health

Cover Art
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health - Karen J. Carlson, Stephanie A. Eisenstat, and Terra Ziporyn
This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women's Health - Sana Loue and Martha Sajatovic
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

Cover Art
Dr. Susan Love’s Breast Book
Dr. Susan Loves Breast Book has long been the bible for the newly diagnosed. In this completely revised fifth edition, it also becomes a guide for those at risk of getting breast cancer, survivors interested in the consequences of their treatment, and anyone who wants to understand the new research about how the local environment influences the manifestations and treatments of many different kinds of breast cancer.

Cover Art
Women's Health Care in Advanced Practice Nursing
This book is the ideal tool to help graduate level nursing students expand their understanding of women's health care and wellness issues.

Cover Art
Bailliere's Midwives' Dictionary
The dictionary of choice for student midwives and practitioners, this reference provides a thorough and reliable first point of information.

 

Medicine

Cover Art
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Cover Art
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease - Kenneth F. Kiple
An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Cover Art
Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology - Ernest Hodgson, Richard B.Mailman, and Janice E.Chambers
Comprises concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology. Coverage includes biochemical and environmental toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, risk assessment and risk management as well as those aspects of analytical chemistry and molecular biology that are of importance in toxicology. The most important toxic chemicals are covered, in most cases with structures and CAS numbers.

Cover Art
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary
Covers veterinary vocabulary with comprehensive coverage of all large and small animals, including exotics.

Cover Art
The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
A vital companion for all users of medicine, whether parents buying for babies and children, anyone wanting more information on a doctor's prescription, or those who need to find a remedy for occasional ailments. Contains up-to-date descriptions of prescription and over-the-counter drugs.