Resources for the Charter College Registered and Vocational Nursing Programs.
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2017
Finding quality health and medical information on the Web can be a daunting endeavor. The information you find may not only be misleading, it could also be dangerous. The tutorials and websites below can help guide you through the maze of health information on the web.
- BioMed Central | The Open Access Publisher
- GQuery: Global Cross-database
From The National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Harvard Medical School
Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard offers many free full-text articles from the School of Medicine.
- Harvard School of Public Health
Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH) offers many full-text articles from the School of Public Health
- ipl2: Information You Can Trust
o A searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites; links to online texts, newspapers, and magazines; and the Ask an ipl2 Librarian online
- MedlinePlus - Health Information from the National Library of Medicine
MedlinePlus directs you to information to help answer health questions, bringing together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies. MedlinePlus also contains information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, the latest health news, and surgery videos.
- National Library of Medicine - National Institutes of Health
The largest database of health and medical information in the world.
The free Internet version of Medline, a database containing over 11 million references to medical articles, provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
- Wiley Open Access
- Medical Encyclopedia: MedlinePlus
Hosted on the Medline Plus web site from the National Library of Medicine, this encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- PDR Online
Search the Physicians Desk Reference online.
- Nursing Center
NursingCenter is your portal to more than 800 continuing education activities and thousands of clinical articles from 50 leading nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, including the American Journal of Nursing, Nursing2008, Nursing Management, The Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and many more specialty journals.
- Nursing Theories
Information and resources for nurses worldwide. Includes a Nursing theories A-Z as well as information on other nursing topics.
- Practical Nursing
A site built by nurses to guide those interested in pursuing a career as a licensed practical nurse. Contains state-specific information on educational opportunities and licensure.
- MedicineNet - Health and Medical Information Produced by Doctors
"We bring doctors' knowledge to you"
- HealthCentral.com - Trusted, Reliable and Up To Date Health Information
Up-to-date information on health news and more
This site combats "health related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies and misconduct."
- Mayo Clinic
The Health Information tab includes overviews of hundreds of diseases and conditions.
NetWellness, a nonprofit consumer health website, provides more than 55,000 pages of high quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty at the University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve University and the Ohio State University. Its “Ask An Expert” feature is a question and answer service provided by numerous health care professionals of the three universities.
- Aetna InteliHealth: Featuring Harvard Medical School's Consumer Health Information
Aetna InteliHealth, a subsidiary of Aetna, partners with Harvard Medical School and Columbia University College of Dental Medicine to provide health information on this website. The site is content rich on disease and treatment information and includes additional features such as interactive health tools, ask the expert, dental health, and drug resource center. It’s important to note that Aetna InteliHealth’s editorial policy states that it maintains absolute editorial independence from Aetna.
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention
The content on FamilyDoctor.org is intended for all individuals who are seeking reliable health information and is written at a 6th to 8th grade reading level. Content specifically for children and teens is also available on the site. All information has been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians. Conditions and diseases can be searched by name, symptom, or age most commonly affected.
- Dorland Health: Care Coordination, Case Management, Care Transitions
Dorland Health, an Access Intelligence, LLC Company, is a leading integrated media publisher in the healthcare business information industry. Through a suite of publications, directories, webinars and business information services, Dorland Health is a trusted venue for professionals in care coordination.
- Lab Tests Online
A public resource on clinical lab testing from the laboratory professionals who do the testing.
Interactive 2D & 3D Anatomy models by system.
- American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA)
The AHIMA Code of Ethics is to be used by AHIMA members and certificants, consumers, agencies, organizations, and bodies (such as licensing and regulatory boards, insurance providers, courts of law, government agencies, and other professional groups) that choose to adopt it or use it as a frame of reference.
- HIPAA Privacy Rule and Its Impacts on Research
From the National Institutes of Health.
- Understanding Health Information Privacy
From the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services.
- Health Privacy
From the Center for Democracy & Technology
- Medical Record Privacy
From the Electronic Privacy Information Center
- Health Level Seven International
Health Level Seven International (HL7) is a not-for-profit, standards developing organization dedicated to providing a comprehensive framework and related standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information.
- Health Information & the Law
A project of the George Washington University's Hirsh Health Law and Policy Program and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
- A Code of Ethics for Health Informatics Professionals
From the International Medical Informatics Association.
- HIPAA Enforcement
Enforcement process and statistical data, as well as case examples, from the Department of Health and Human Resources.
- HIPAA Violations and Enforcement
Civil & criminal penalties. Chart. American Medical Association.
- Lab Tests Online
This site is provided by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry and has been designed to aid both patient and caregiver "to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases." This non-commercial site provides peer-reviewed information.
- Medical calculators, equations, algorithms, and scores.
- Physical Exam Modules
From the University of Virginia School of Medicine.